Delhi Champions

International Rounds 2013

The 6th annual International Rounds in Oxford of the Price Media Law Moot Court Competition took place from 9 – 12 April, 2013. It was the largest and most international edition of the Price Moot since its beginning, with 40 teams from 27 countries, many of them at their first participation like Brazil, Croatia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Trinidad & Tobago. As the competition is becoming increasingly global, this edition saw an unprecedented number of teams coming to Oxford after qualifying in the various Regional Rounds, and also a growing number of teams from other areas, like Africa, where Regional Rounds are being launched soon.

This year’s case was centred on social network websites, journalists’ liability, freedom of assembly and protection of public order, and a number of side events were organised to complement the competition and reinforce the participants’ skills and information on these topics. The side events included a seminar on Comparative Perspectives on New Media, Freedom of Expression and Public Order that brought together an international panel of four speakers from Nigeria, Egypt, China and Kenya to discuss the Moot problem of this year and demonstrate how current and practical the issues at stake are by presenting case studies that really happened in their Countries of origin; and a workshop on Securing Freedom of Expression through the UN Human Rights Special Procedures, coorganised with the Media Legal Defence Initiative and Garden Court Chambers,  which offered a chance to practically engage with the functioning of the UN human rights machinery to defend freedom of expression.

The International Rounds concluded with a thrilling final before an impressive bench that included Justice Andras Sajo of the European Court of Human Rights and Justice Elsie Thompson Nwanwuri of the African Court of Human and People’s Rights among others, and eventually saw the team from National Law University, Delhi, India, prevailing by small margin over Regent University School of Law, USA, to become the new champions.